HomeCalendarFAQSearchMemberlistUsergroupsRegisterLog in

Share | 


Go down 

Posts : 143
Join date : 2010-09-25

PostSubject: LiverPool   Tue Sep 28, 2010 4:38 pm

Liverpool have maintained their status as a domestic and European force since the Premier League began in 1992, rarely finishing outside the top positions. The club have won seven major trophies since then, including the Champions League, Uefa Cup, two FA Cups and three League Cups. Indeed, 2001 saw the Reds claim an unprecedented League Cup, FA Cup and Uefa Cup treble.

Under Rafa Benitez, Liverpool secured Champions League football in five of his six seasons at the helm. The Spaniard won the competition in 2005 and guided the club to an appearance in the final two years later where they were beaten 2-1 by AC Milan. After struggling in the 2009/10 Barclays Premier League season the club finished in seventh, and missed out on a Champions League place. They will instead take part in the Europa League in the 2010/11 season.

On 3rd June 2010, Liverpool announced that they had parted company with Benitez, and Roy Hodgson took over later that summer.

Club Heritage

In 1891, John Houlding purchased Anfield after Everton left the ground for Goodison Park following a seven-year tenancy. With an empty stadium and only three players remaining, Houlding formed Liverpool Football Club on 15th March 1892. Everton FC and Athletic Grounds, Ltd, or Everton Athletic was to be the name, but the Football Association refused to recognise the team as Everton. Liverpool's first-ever competitive match was in the Lancashire League, where a predominantly Scottish team defeated Higher Walton 8-0 on 23rd September 1892. Liverpool won their first title in 1901 after gaining promotion to the First Division in 1894.

The appointment of Bill Shankly in 1959 was the beginning of a golden era for Liverpool. He led the club to promotion to the First Division in 1962 and they have stayed there ever since. The title was secured in 1964 and 1966, with a first-ever FA Cup final victory sandwiched in between. A year after winning the Uefa Cup, Shankly retired and was replaced by his assistant Bob Paisley.

Within two seasons, the Reds had won the league, and the Uefa Cup for a second time. Paisley's nine-year reign saw Liverpool win 21 trophies, including three European Cups, six league titles, a Uefa Cup, and three League Cups. Joe Fagan took over in 1983 and inspired the club to the European Cup, League title, and League Cup in his first season.

Premier League History

1993/94 - Roy Evans replaces Graeme Souness
1994/95 - Win League Cup
1998/99 - Gerard Houllier joins Evans as joint-manager
1998/99 - Houllier takes sole charge in November 1998
2000/01 - Win FA Cup, League Cup and Uefa Cup
2002/03 - Win League Cup
2003/04 - Houllier departs by mutual consent in May 2004
2004/05 - Rafa Benitez takes over
2004/05 - Djibril Cisse joins from Auxerre for a club record £14m
2004/05 - Win Champions League
2005/06 - Win FA Cup
2006/07 - American businessmen George Gillett and Tom Hicks become owners in a deal worth £470m.
2007/08 - Fernando Torres becomes Liverpool's record signing at an initial fee of around £20.2m from Atletico Madrid.
2008/09 - Benitez ends widespread specualtion about his future by signing a new five-year contract.
2009/10 - Benitez leaves Liverpool by mutual consent.
2009/10 - Roy Hodgson takes over

Back to top Go down
View user profile
Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
» Liverpool, England - novice just landed!!!
» liverpool motorhome/camper show
» Liverpool Sale Today and Tomorrow
» southport/liverpool meet end of June 2014
» El Arenal, Playa de Palma, C'an Pastilla

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Palestine4ever :: Sports Section :: Premier League-
Jump to: